MSc/PgDip/PgCert Educational Support

main content

The Masters/Diploma/Certificate course in Inclusive Education/ Educational Support is a masters level, taught modular postgraduate course that focuses on the broad areas of additional support needs, inclusive pedagogy and collaborative practice. This course, which was restructured in session 2011/12,  provides an opportunity to learn about the background, policies and procedures and pedagogy related to inclusive education.

The course is recognized by local authorities as desirable for all teachers working in, or seeking to work in, the area of educational support. It provides an opportunity to learn from, and alongside, a wide group of teachers from all sectors and stages: mainstream and special schools; early years, primary, secondary and FE.

All the modules in the course are 20 credits each. This means that it should be easily possible for a student to incorporate modules from another provider, e.g. Glasgow University, into their studies at the University of Strathclyde. We would encourage you to consider this possibility.  The cost per 20 credit module is £335.

Please contact us if you are an overseas student for information regarding fees.

15 credit modules are by application to course staff:  Dr Lio Moscardini, l.moscardini@strath.ac.uk, tel: 0141 444 8074; Sharon Jessop, s.jessop@strath.ac.uk, tel: 0141 444 8059 or Vivienne Watson, Admin Support, v.a.watson@strath.ac.uk, tel: 0141 444 8018.

Dates for the 2013/14 modules are as follows.  Please note new start date for Core Module 1.

Core Module 1:   Tues 10 Sept, Saturday 14 September, Tues 17 Sept, Tues 24 Sept, Tues 1 Oct, Sat 5 Oct, Tues 8 Oct

Core Module 2:  Sat 18 Jan, Tues 21 Jan, Tues 28 Jan, Tues 4 Feb, Tues 18 Feb, Sat 22 Feb, Tues 25 Feb

Core Module 3:  Tues 22 April, Sat 26 April, Tues 29 April, Tues 6 May, Tues 13 May, Sat 17 May, Tues 20 May

Supporting Numeracy:  Tues 10 Sept, Tues 17 Sept, Sat 21 Sept, Tues 24 Sept, Tues 1 Oct, Sat 5 Oct, Tues 8 Oct, Tues 22 Oct

Inclusive Pedagogy:  Sat 1 March, Tues 4 March, Tues 11 March, Tues 18 March,  Tues 25 March,  Sat 29 March,  Tues 1 April

Health & Wellbeing: Sat 19 April, Tues 22 April, Tues 29 April, Tues 6 May, Tues 13 May, Tues 20  May

Supporting Literacy :  Sat 26 Oct, Tues 29 Oct, Tues 5 Nov, Tues 12 Nov, Tues 19 Nov, Tues 26 Nov, Sat 30 Nov

Understanding the Impact of Autism X3947:Mon 31 March, Mons 28 April, 5 May, 12 May, 19 May, 2 June, 9 June and 16 June

Applied Educational & Social Research Methods: This module will be taught online commencing Wednesday 23rd April.

Please note that all Saturday classes are day-time and Tuesday classes take place during the evening. 

The structure of the course is illustrated in a diagram

The Educational Support course is part of the M.Ed programme.  Further details of the programme can be found at: http://www.strath.ac.uk/humanities/courses/education/courses/med 


 

 

 

Postgraduate Certificate

The Certificate comprises three core modules.

Core Module 1Core Module 2Core Module 3

Core Modules

Postgraduate Diploma

This phase has been planned and there are still some details to be finalized. Please keep an eye on this website.

The Diploma phase will consist of a number of optional modules worth 20 credits each of which the student chooses 3. Successful completion of these 3 modules will result in a Diploma but students intending to proceed to MSc level must include the module Social Science Research Methods within their 3 choices.

The optional modules to be offered are:

  • Inclusive Pedagogy
  • Supporting language and literacy
  • Supporting numeracy
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Applied Educational & Social Research Methods

MSc

The MSc phase consists of a student-centred project leading to the production of a dissertation. This will involve a significant piece of research in the area of Additional Support Needs or Inclusion and is equivalent to 60 credit points. The fields of educational support and inclusion are varied and complex. The issues affecting children, families and schools are extremely significant and are worthy of study at Masters level. Students are strongly encouraged to consider studying at this level. For further information on the MSc contact Vivienne Watson, Course Secretary , v.a.watson@strath.ac.uk

 

Entry Requirements

Teachers

  • First degree or equivalent plus a recognised teaching qualification in primary, secondary or further education
  • Post-qualification experience
  • GTC Registration (Initial or Full Registration)

Others

  • First degree or equivalent
  • Employed in a context where they are working to support the learning of children and/or young people

Further Information

Postgraduation Application

New students who wish to apply to this course for the first time, please complete the online application form using the APPLY link below.  N.B.  Students are advised to apply for the Diploma, while still able to exit at Certificate level.

(If you require a form to use to apply for funding through your Local Authority please contact Vivienne Watson, v.a.watson@strath.ac.uk. Please Note: THIS IS NOT AN APPLICATION FORM)

 

Further Information For Students

Course Secretary - Vivienne Watson


 

 

 

 

Pre-Masters preparation course

The Pre-Masters Programme is a preparation course for international students (non EU/UK) who do not meet the entry requirements for a Masters degree at University of Strathclyde. The Pre-Masters programme provides progression to a number of degree options

To find out more about the courses and opportunities on offer visit isc.strath.ac.uk or call today on +44 (0) 1273 339333 and discuss your education future. You can also complete the online application form, or to ask a question please fill in the enquiry form and talk to one of our multi-lingual Student Enrolment Advisers today. 

for Sep 2014 entry to part-time PG Diploma educational support (Admission Code : PRPGD1)

Postgraduate entry requirements are in our prospectus.

for Sep 2014 entry to part-time MSc educational support (Admission Code : PRMSC2)

Postgraduate entry requirements are in our prospectus.

for Sep 2014 entry to part-time PG Certificate educational support (Admission Code : PRPGC1)

Postgraduate entry requirements are in our prospectus.