Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

The AHRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) sits within the Scottish Graduate School for Art and Humanities and awards around 50 fully-funded studentships annually for students commencing their postgraduate studies in the Arts and Humanities at one of eight collaborating HEIs including The University of Strathclyde. Students successful in the 2017/18 competition will commence studies in October 2017.

Strathclyde are able to offer supervision in the following areas; Architecture, Creative Writing, Literary Linguistics, Cultural Policy, Arts and Heritage Management, Design, English Language, English Literature, French Studies, Hispanic, Portuguese and Latin Studies, History, Interpreting and Translation, Italian Studies, Journalism and Publishing, Law and Legal Studies, Library and Information Studies, Linguistics and Scottish Literature.

  • Number of scholarships 50
  • Value Tuition fees & stipend for eligible candidates
  • Opens 18 October 2016
  • Deadline 9 January 2017
  • Help with Tuition fees, Living costs
  • Duration 3 years

Eligibility

Academic qualifications

A  first class degree or a masters with distinction is required. Applicants already holding doctoral qualifications should not apply.

Residential eligibility

  • Research Council (RC) fees and stipend can only be awarded to UK and EU students and not to EEA or International students.
  • EU students are only eligible for RC stipend if they have been resident in the UK for 3 years, including for study purposes, immediately prior to starting their PhD.
  • If an EU student cannot fulfil this condition then they are eligible for a fees-only studentship.
  • International students cannot be funded from RC funds unless they are ‘settled’ in the UK. ‘Settled’ means being ordinarily resident in the UK without any immigration restrictions on the length of stay in the UK. To be ‘settled’  a student must either have the Right to Abode or Indefinite leave to remain in the UK or have the right of permanent residence in the UK under EC law.  If the student’s passport describes them as a British citizen they have the Right of Abode.
  • Students with full Refugee status are eligible for fees and stipend.

 

 

Further Information

For further details of our particular strengths and the areas in which we are best placed to offer supervision please visit: http://www.strath.ac.uk/dtcs/artshumanities/  You are advised to contact potential supervisors and panel representatives in advance, in order to seek guidance on the DTP application process.

Contact us

The institutional lead for AHRC-funded Postgraduate Research is Dr Sarah Edwards (sarah.m.edwards@strath.ac.uk)

You are advised to contact potential supervisors and panel representatives (named below) in advance, in order to seek guidance on the DTP application process.

Architecture Dr Jonathan Charley (j.charley@strath.ac.uk)

Creative Writing Professor David Kinloch (d.p.kinloch@strath.ac.uk)

Design Dr Andrew Wodehouse (andrew.wodehouse@strath.ac.uk)

English Language and Literature Dr Elspeth Jajdelska (elspeth.jajdelska@strath.ac.uk)

History Dr Alison Cathcart (a.cathcart@strath.ac.uk) and Dr Karine Varley (karine.varley@strath.ac.uk)

Journalism Dr Michael Higgins (michael.higgins@strath.ac.uk)

Law and Legal Studies Professor Nicole Busby (nicole.busby@strath.ac.uk)

Library and Information Studies Prof Ian Ruthven (ian.ruthven@strath.ac.uk)

Marketing, including Cultural Policy, Arts and Heritage Management Dr Derek Bryce (derek.bryce@strath.ac.uk)

Modern Languages Professor Philip Cooke (p.e.cooke@strath.ac.uk)

 

Further information can be found at: http://www.strath.ac.uk/dtcs/artshumanities/   

 

 

How to apply

  • Please visit the Scottish Graduate School for Art and Humanities website  for further details and information on how to apply.
  • Students should also apply for a place on the PhD programme at Strathclyde via Pegasus and provide references by the 9th January 2017. In the ‘Funding’ section of the Pegasus application form, please write ‘AHRC DTP Studentship’ and also upload a copy of the DTP Studentship Application Form.
  • The DTP Studentship Application Form should also be emailed, by the closing date, to hass-scholarships@strath.ac.uk
  • You will be notified within two weeks of the closing date about whether your application will be entered for the DTP competition.
  • Applicants already holding doctoral qualifications should not apply.