Naval architecture staff line up for a photograph, all smiling, outside the henry dyer building

Naval Architecture, Ocean & Marine EngineeringOur staff

Our staff are internationally recognised for their expertise. They work with industry and organisations from all across the world to provide top class help and advice.

Academic staff

Professor Atilla Incecik Associate Principal &  Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering
Professor Feargal Brennan Professor - Head of Department | James Blyth Chair
Dr Gerasimos Theotokatos Deputy HoD | Reader of Safety of Marine Systems
Professor Mehmet Atlar Professor - Associate HoD Research & KE
Dr Evangelos Boulougouris Reader of Safety Marine Operations
Dr Julia Race Reader in Pipeline and Subsea Engineering
Dr Maurizio Collu Reader
Dr Andrea Coraddu Lecturer
Professor Sandy Day Professor - Associate HoD Laboratories & Infrastructure
Dr Yigit Demirel Senior Lecturer
Dr Byongug Jeong Teaching Associate
Professor Panagiotis Kaklis Reader
Professor Athanasios Kolios Professor
Professor Chengi Kuo  Emeritus Professor
Dr Rafet Emek Kurt Senior Lecturer
Dr Iraklis Lazakis Reader - Associate HoD Recruitment & Internationalisation 
Dr Erkan Oterkus  Reader - PGR Admissions and PHD Programme Director
Dr Selda Oterkus Senior Lecturer - UG Recruitment Director
Dr Weichao Shi Strathclyde Chancellor's Fellow
Professor Longbin Tao Professor
Dr Tahsin Tezdogan Senior Lecturer
Professor Osman Turan  Professor - Departmental REF Director
Professor Dracos Vassalos Professor of Maritime Safety
Dr Qing Xiao  Reader
Dr Zhiming Yuan Senior Lecturer
Dr Laibing Jia Chancellor's Fellowships
Professor Peilin Zhou Professor

Administrative staff

Michaela Graham Administration Assistant
Sharon Jamieson Undergraduate Administrator
Fiona Mackie Postgraduate Taught Administrator
Lynn O'Brien Institute Administrator
Susan Pawson Postgraduate Research Administrator
Lynne Samson Finance Administrator

Laboratory & technical staff

Steven Black Chief Technician
Grant Dunning Technician
Ross Gilmour IT Officer
Rebecca McEwan Modern Apprentice
Bill Wright Model Maker

Research Assistants

 Bujorianu, Luminita Manuela
 Chang, Enrong
 Cheliotis Michael
 Chouliaras, Sotirios
 Dai, Saishuai
 Gunbeyaz, Sefer Anil
 Huang Yunke
 Jalon Ramirez, Maria
 Kalathiparambil Abeendranath, Abhinav
 Katsoulis, Theofanis
 Liang, Yibo
 Lin, Zi
 Lotfian, Saeid
 Lyu, Da
 Nuernberg, Martin
 Oikonomou, Stylianos
 Paterson, Donald
 Pusia, Romanus
 Uzun, Dogancan
 Wang, Haibin
 Xiang, La
 Xiuxiu, Sun
 Yang, Renyou


Honorary Professor

Professor Tor Svensen