Strathclyde Architecture students in End of Year Show

Architecture students' End of Year Show

The free exhibition highlights projects by students from each stage of courses in Strathclyde’s Department of Architecture, with images, models and drawings depicting their work in urban, rural and studio settings.

Subjects range from houses and libraries to shipbuilding centres, places of worship and a community distillery. Students carried out parts of their work at sites around Scotland, including Glasgow, Fife, East Lothian and the Western Isles.

Public show

The show, on Level 3 of Strathclyde’s James Weir Building and in the University’s Architecture Building, is open to the public from 9am – 5pm until Friday 16 June.

Professor Ashraf Salama, Head of the Department of Architecture, said: “Safe, durable, comfortable buildings for people to live in, work in, enjoy recreation and have access to services are essential to a successful society. We produce highly qualified, highly capable new recruits to the architectural profession to ensure these buildings are provided around the world.

“Strathclyde’s location at the heart of a thriving city provides ideal opportunities for learning about architecture and urbanism. This is reflected in our continuous commitment to the positive development of the city, its professional and cultural institutions, and its local communities.

“Alongside this, our students have the opportunity to engage with major global challenges and to undertake projects with nations including India, Peru, Costa Rica and Malawi.

“The End of Year Show demonstrates the calibre of practical and imaginative work produced by our students, from Years One to Five. We look forward to them enhancing the built environment in years to come.”

Awards have been made to students in the department for some of the best projects of the year. The prizes include:

•           Year Two Edwin Morris Award for Technology - Beth Kytzia

•           Glasgow Institute of Architects (GIA) Award Year One - Iga Swiercz. Commended - Hannah Stewart

•           GIA Award  Year Two - Katie Forbes. Commended - Tia Partanen, Daniel Kelly

•           GIA Award Year Three - Tom Stark. Commended - Sean Poon, Vasilis Appios

•           Eimear Kelt Medal - Paschalis Kyrtsopoulos for Direct Youth Democracy: Scottish  Youth Parliament and Ministry  of Education

•           GIA Final Year Parchment award - Ross Cameron for Reclaimed Freespaces in Paisley. Commended - Jonita Karablikova for Political Archives in Moscow; Annabelle Brading and Sean Fitzpatrick for Military Personnel Rehabilitation Masterplan for Inverkeithing; Anastasia Karvela for Ornithological Wetlands Project in Greece.