Two Strathclyders join Royal Academy of Engineering

Construction in progress of the new bridge over the Firth of Forth, between Fife and the Lothians.

Two University of Strathclyde Professors have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Professor Rebecca Lunn MBE and Professor Graham Wren have received the accolade in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to the profession.

They were among 50 new Fellows who were formally admitted to the Academy at its AGM in London.

Royal Academy of Engineering President Professor Dame Ann Dowling said: “I am delighted to welcome all our new Fellows to the Academy - together they epitomise the very best of UK engineering. Representing the country’s most innovative and creative minds from both academia and industry, the achievements of our new Fellows highlight the critical role engineering has in addressing major societal challenges and ensuring our readiness for the future.

“We are very much looking forward to working with them as we continue to fulfil our vision of engineering at the heart of a sustainable and prosperous society.” 

Professor Rebecca Lunn MBE

Professor Lunn, of Strathclyde’s Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, is Head of the University’s Centre for Ground Engineering and Energy Geosciences. She is the Royal Academy of Engineering BAM Nuttall Research Chair in Biomineral Technologies for Ground Engineering. She is an experienced government advisor, including a six-year membership of the Committee on Radioactive Waste Management. She chaired the Royal Society of Edinburgh Working Group on ‘Scotland’s Future Gas Options’ and is a member of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council’s Science Advisory Team for Engineering.

Professor Lunn was named an MBE in 2017, in recognition of her services to STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). She was awarded the Geological Society’s Aberconway Medal in 2011 for her research with the nuclear industry and, in 2015, the Saltire Society named her one of 10 inaugural Outstanding Women of Scotland for her outstanding research contribution and her support of women in STEM.

She said: “I am delighted that my contributions to engineering research, and my activities in support of women in engineering, have been recognised through my election as a Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow. I am looking forward to working with the Academy to help achieve their vision of engineering at the heart of a sustainable and prosperous society”. 

Professor Graham Wren

Professor Wren, Director of Major Projects at Strathclyde and Special Adviser to the Principal, is a champion for the engineering profession and research and industry collaboration. Throughout his career he has led many first-of-a-kind projects, from nuclear technology and market changing forensic science to globally recognised collaborative research centres.

Professor Wren has worked with colleagues to raise more than £600 million for industrially focused research over 10 years as principal architect of several of the UK’s largest translational research centres, linking engineering need and UK’s leading researchers across multiple institutions. Over the last three years, with colleagues from Strathclyde and the wider academic and industrial community, he has championed a National Manufacturing Institute and Strathclyde is to be the anchor university in the National Manufacturing Institute for Scotland, announced by First Minister Nicola Sturgeon in 2017.

He said: “My work at Strathclyde has all been as part of a team. It has been my privilege to work with Sir Jim McDonald and the many talented colleagues from across the University and beyond to play my part in our growth and engagement with industry over the years.  I am looking forward to working with the Royal Academy to help grow the role, visibility and impact of the Academy and engineering more generally on society and the economy.”

Professor Lunn and Professor Wren join a number of existing Strathclyde Fellows, including: Principal Professor Sir Jim McDonald; Professor Keith Ridgway CBE, Executive Chair of Strathclyde’s Advanced Forming Research Centre; John Baxter CBE, Visiting Professor at Strathclyde’s Advanced Nuclear Research Centre; Professor Patricia Connolly, of the Department of Biomedical Engineering; Research Professor Tariq Durrani; Emeritus Professors Bill Banks and John Spence and Visiting Professor Anthony Morris.