Computer & Information SciencesGender Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion (GEDI)

As a University and as a Department we are committed to equality and diversity and work hard to ensure equal participation and equality of opportunities for all.

Our Computer & Information Sciences (CIS) Gender Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion (GEDI) team works on an action plan across 5 priority areas: Governance, structure, and policy; Stakeholder involvement; Metrics relevant to GEDI; Recruitment, promotion, progression; and Curriculum.

CIS adheres to the Athena SWAN Charter, a framework used worldwide to support and transform gender equality within higher education and research. We have been conferred an Athena SWAN Bronze Award in recognition of our gender equality efforts.


Computer & Information Sciences GEDI Team

Our Gender Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion (GEDI) team works with our Head of Department to ensure equality of opportunity, fair inclusive policies and working practices that comply with the University’s equality, diversity, and inclusion policies, and to increase gender equality, inclusion, and equity among the demographic of the Department at all levels.

We strive to achieve greater awareness of EDI challenges and opportunities within the Department, and report each year to the Executive Committee and other departmental committees as appropriate. We also coordinate applications for national awards such as Athena SWAN, and review the development and implementation of action plans for implementing positive change, which includes consideration of statistics relevant to our work both in relation to staff and students.

If you wish to learn more about our GEDI activities, please contact the GEDI departmental Chair, Dr Perla Innocenti -


Team members and their Stories

Our GEDI team includes academics at all levels with a wide range of career paths and work-life experiences, and members of our support staff.


Dr Gordon Duckett


Ms Erin Mackay