Global Environmental Measurement & Monitoring Cities are the Key to the Climate Solution

Meeting Global Greenhouse Gases and Air Quality Targets Through Real-time Measurement

Join city leaders, policymakers and scientists at this FREE summit to discover how affordable technology for real-time measurement of greenhouse gases can help your city tackle climate change and pollution.

Date & time
  • Date: Wednesday 3 November 2021
  • Time: 2pm-8pm GMT
    (3pm-9pm CET – 7am-1pm PDT – 10am-4pm EDT)
Venue

University of Strathclyde
Technology and Innovation Centre (TIC)
99 George Street
Glasgow G1 1RD

Online and in-person hybrid summit

The Summit will:

  • demonstrate the capabilities of new networks of lower-cost GHG and pollution gas sensors deployed in Glasgow and the San Francisco Bay Area;
  • illustrate the ability to integrate dense ground-based monitoring networks into existing measurement capabilities;
  • present how GHG sensing information can help guide urban policies and initiatives; and
  • present economic models that include GHG and air quality information and the links to disparate urban demographics and environmental justice considerations.

The Global Environmental Measurement and Monitoring (GEMM) Initiative, an international project of Optica (formerly OSA) and the American Geophysical Union (AGU), is inviting city leaders, policymakers, scientists and the business community to discover how cost-effective technologies for monitoring greenhouse gas (GHG) and air pollution emissions in urban environments can measure and predict the impact of climate policy and planning decisions.

Recent deployments of low-cost, high-density GHG sensors in several cities have yielded initial datasets demonstrating the utility of mapping GHG and air pollution levels in real time. Analyses of the COVID-19 emission reductions show that determining the emission contributions from various source sectors with detailed mapping and timing across the full diurnal cycle is possible and can provide invaluable information on governmental policies affecting GHG emission levels.

Met Office.
Met Office.
OSA - The Optical Society.
OSA - The Optical Society.
AGU - Advancing earth and space science.
AGU - Advancing earth and space science.
NPL - National Physics Laboratory.
NPL - National Physics Laboratory.
Glasgow City Council.
Glasgow City Council.
Berkeley, University of California.
Berkeley, University of California.
Stanford University.
Stanford University.