rnu - royal naval unit

Military Education Committee

main content

Military Education Committee of the Universities of Glasgow and Strathclyde
with Glasgow Caledonian University and the University of the West of Scotland


The Military Education Committee is an autonomous body which:

  • Oversees and monitors the work of the three University Service Units: the Royal Naval Unit, Officers' Training Corps and Air Squadron
  • Advises the Universities on matters relating to military education
  • Ensures that student activities within a University Service Unit are not to the detriment of academic progress and general student welfare
  • Ensures that Universities' policies and related legislation are, as far as practicable, maintained within the University Service Units
  • Encourages and promotes an interest in strategic studies within the Universities
  • Liaises with the three Services, making recommendations or advising on matters relating to the appointment of commanding officers and senior honorary posts in accordance with the arrangements established by each Service
  • Liaises with the Council of Military Education Committees.


Convener:            Dr. Andrew McLaren, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Strathclyde
Vice-Convener:   Mr. Jim Castle, Computing, Engineering and Built Environment, Glasgow Caledonian University
Secretary:            Ms Amber Higgins, Registry, University of Glasgow, e: Amber.Higgins @ glasgow.ac.uk, t: 0141-300 4976

University of Glasgow members:

Prof. Roddy Galbraith, e: Roderick.Galbraith @ glasgow.ac.uk
Prof. Denis Fischbacher-Smith, Management
Prof. Neal Juster, Senior Vice-Principal
Prof. Tony Pollard, Humanities
Student member

University of Strathclyde members:

Dr. Andrew McLaren, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Prof. Kenny Miller, Law
Dr. Geoff Coxon, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences
Dr. Doug Bertram, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Student member

Glasgow Caledonian University member:

Mr. Jim Castle, Computing, Engineering and Built Environment
Mr. Peter Yetton, Visa Immigration Support and Advice

University of the West of Scotland member:



Lt. Luis Canosa, Officer-in-Charge, GSURNU
Lt. Col. Jim Bates, Commanding Officer, GSUOTC
Sqn. Ldr. Kris Bebbington, Officer Commanding, UGSAS
Lt. Col. Tony Lynn, Commanding Officer, DTUS Trojan Squadron
Col. Allan Lapsley, Honorary Colonel, GSUOTC
Maj. Craig Powers, Training Major, GSUOTC
Lt. Cdr. Garth Atkinson, NRCSNI
Brig. Benjamin Wrench, Commander, 51 (Scottish) Brigade
Col. Ted Shields, Chief Executive, Lowland RFCA


The Committee comprises senior representatives from each of the Universities, together with the Commanding Officers of the Service Units and other military personnel.  It is the main line of communication with the Universities and members may be in a position to help students with problems.  Officer Cadets should feel free to approach a member of the Committee for advice on any matter of concern.

Military enquiries should be addressed to the Service Units direct. 

Non-military enquiries may be addressed to the University representatives indicated above.

Military Education Committee, in conjunction with

did you know : the University's 3 service units - Royal Naval Unit, Officers Training Corps and Air Squadron - attract 360 students