Eight Scottish Universities have come together to form a research alliance in physics:

  • Heriot Watt University
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Dundee
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of the West of Scotland

The aim is to place Scotland at the forefront of research in physics through an agreed national strategy, an inter-institutional management structure, and coordinated promotion and pursuit of excellence.

Adopting a coherent approach to staffing strategy, research training, research initiatives and funding opportunities, SUPA will pool and enhance Scotland's strongest physics research areas. It will develop as a world leader in physics, creating the largest group of physics researchers in the UK. It's also intended as a single 'front door' for potential staff, sponsors, and industrial collaborators.

Further information