Montage of different faces

Images of Research 2023: Hope for humanity

Competition closed to entries

Shortlisting for this year’s competition is now underway.

This annual competition and subsequent year-long exhibition brings the research conducted at Strathclyde to a wide audience both online and in print, via a variety of public exhibitions.

This year’s competition, Hope for humanity, highlights the endeavours of our research community to make a difference in society. At this difficult time, great progress continues to be made, from health to technology, in addressing sustainability challenges and influencing policy change for a more inclusive world. Society is at the heart of what we do, and our research aims to create a brighter future for all.

Inspired by the University’s strategic themes, this year’s categories reflect our key areas of focus:

  • Community conscious
  • Healthy society
  • Responsible research
  • Technology transforms

The resulting exhibition will be launched as part of Engage with Strathclyde, which runs from 2nd to 12th May. The category winners will be announced at the Images of Research launch event (2nd May, Mitchell Library) and the public vote will then be opened to choose the People’s Choice award winner. More details will be announced here in the coming weeks.

Images of Research exhibition tour:
The 2022 Adapting to advance exhibition continues its tour until the May launch of this year's exhibition; look out for details of where the exhibition will be appearing next by following us on social media. View the 2022 gallery or download the brochure.

In the meantime, have a look at the current exhibition to gain some inspiration for your entry and join our social media platforms to be kept up-to-date with all the latest information about the competition and resulting exhibitions:

Twitter: @StrathImages

Instagram: coming soon!

For any queries about the competition, please contact:

Thank you to our competition sponsors, Jessops, who are providing some great prizes for this year's winners. Visit the Judging and awards page for more details.