PhysicsWays to study

By choosing to study physics at Strathclyde, you'll be joining a department where our world-leading research and teaching staff bring their cutting-edge knowledge of physics to the department's teaching.

Undergraduate courses

We have five undergraduate physics degrees:

The MPhys, BSc Physics and BSc Physics with Teaching degrees follow the same curriculum for the first two years. It's possible to transfer between these degrees - based on performance - at any point up until the end of second year. Beyond second year, the MPhys and BSc Physics degrees share the same curriculum until the end of fourth year.

Students on the BSc Physics with Teaching degree take classes from the PGDip Secondary Education in their third and fourth years.

All our physics degrees are accredited by the Institute of Physics and cover the core of physics in the first three years.

Postgraduate taught courses

We offer the following postgraduate taught degrees:

Postgraduate research degrees

The Department of Physics at Strathclyde has many opportunities for postgraduate research. Currently, there are more than 90 research students studying for PhDs in the four main research divisions.