Strathclyde Business SchoolDepartment of Economics


PGR Students

Emeritus Professors

Fraser of Allander Advisory Board

The Fraser of Allander Institute is supported by an independent advisory board that that helps to oversee the work priorities of the research centre. The board is comprised of a number of highly respected figures, many of whom have made major contributors to debates on Scottish economic and fiscal issues over the years.

  • Professor Andrew Goudie - Special Adviser to the Principal and former Chief Economic Adviser at The Scottish Government (Chair)
  • Professor David Bell - Professor of Economics, University of Stirling
  • Dr Gary Gillespie - Chief Economic Adviser, The Scottish Government
  • Professor John Kay - Professor of Economics, LSE and Fellow, St John’s College, Oxford
  • Dame Susan Rice - Chair of the Scottish Fiscal Commission, President of SCDI, and former CEO of Lloyds TSB Scotland and Director of the Bank of England
  • Professor Frances Ruane - Former Director of the Economic and Social Research Institute, Dublin and Member, Council of Economic Advisers, Scotland
  • Dr Jim Walker - Asianomics, Founder and Chief Economist, Hong Kong
  • Professor Martin Weale - Professor of Economics, King's Business School and former member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee

Stay in touch

Department of Economics
  Department of Economics Twitter
Fraser of Allander Institute
  FAI Blog
  FAI Twitter
Business School
  Business School LinkedIn
  Business School Twitter
  Business School Facebook
  Business School YouTube channel

Contact details

 +44 (0)141 548 3840 

 Undergraduate admissions
 +44 (0)141 548 4114 

 Postgraduate admissions
 +44(0)141 553 6105 / 4590


Strathclyde Business School
University of Strathclyde
199 Cathedral Street
G4 0QU

Triple accredited

AACSB, AMBA and Equis logos
Winner THE 2016 Business School of the year logo
PRME logo